Polenta, Beans & Bok Choy

Since my last post was very non-vegan, I decided to go the vegan route this time around. Something a bit healthier for us as we prepare for another holiday where we (OK, I ) will inevitably stuff our faces with entirely too many desserts, etc. I usually try to plan out at least one meal per week. I’m not the type who can plan the entire week’s meals (planning ahead is not my strong suit). As I was thinking about a healthy meal I could make this week, I remembered this delicious and easy recipe I discovered last year. You can find the original on Fat Free Vegan Kitchen.

This recipe is super flavorful, super good for you, and of course 100% vegan.

The original recipe calls for making your own polenta with a pressure cooker, which of course you are free to do. But if you want to be lazy, like me, just buy it pre-made at the store. If you’ve never tried polenta before, it looks something like this (at Trader Joe’s anyway). You’ll need two of these little guys for the recipe.

I’ve also modified the original recipe because I did not have fresh herbs on hand, and I’m not a huge fan of peppers, so I left those out.

Herbed Polenta with Beans and Bok Choy
1 recipe herbed polenta, below

3 cloves garlic, minced
8 oz. baby or regular portabello mushrooms, sliced
1/2 cup veggie broth
6 oz. baby bok choy, sliced
1 14 oz. can kidney beans or cannelloni beans, drained
1 tsp. dried basil
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
1 tsp. white balsamic vinegar (If you don’t have any, don’t worry about it. I forgot to add mine in, and the recipe still tasted great!)

Herbed Polenta 
2 polenta logs (18 oz. each)
2 Tbsp. olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp. salt
2 tsp. dried basil OR 3 Tbsp. fresh
1 1/2 tsp. dried parsley OR 2 Tbsp. fresh
2 tsp. dried oregano
1 tsp. dried rosemary

*I did not have parsley or rosemary. Instead, I used 2 tsp. basil, 2 tsp. oregano, and 2 tsp. herbes de provence

Cut the polenta into 1 inch pieces. Mix with herbs and sauté in a large pan with olive oil until golden brown on each side. Stir frequently.

Keep warm until ready to serve.

In a separate large skillet, sauté the onions with a bit of olive oil for 3-4 minutes, until soft. Add the garlic and mushrooms, cooking over medium-high heat, stirring until mushrooms soften.

Add the broth, bok choy, beans, and basil, and stir well.

Cover for 5 minutes or so until the bok choy is wilted, but still bright green. Season with salt and pepper to taste and stir in vinegar. Serve over polenta.

Leave a Reply

