Winter Squash Quesadillas

I’m back, y’all. I’ve missed you.

I could make lots of excuses for being gone for two. whole. weeks, but really I just need to plan my time better. Story of my life. I have realized that if I don’t plan ahead for a recipe to post each week, it may not happen. So, barring a natural disaster, or me getting pregnant* or something, get ready for posts every week. Hopefully.

Anyway. I am really excited about this recipe. Last week my dear friends and I decided to have dinner together before heading out to a Halloween party. I assessed the situation in the fridge. Hmm… tortillas, squash… umm?

Then I had a stroke of pure genius. OK so maybe it wasn’t genius, but it was pretty good. I thought, let’s make squash quesadillas! So I gathered what I had: a buttercup squash, garlic, shallots, tortillas, mexican-blend cheese, some spices. And hey, it turned out pretty good.

But I didn’t feel like taking pictures that night, so tonight I made it again, except I made it even better, because I actually followed a recipe. I remembered my friend had made these yummy sweet potato quesadillas last year, so I decided to go off of that recipe, modifying it a bit. My friend found this recipe in the awesome Mennonite cookbook: Simply in Season.

Disclaimer: I totally messed up at the store tonight. I meant to buy flour tortillas and I bought corn instead. I was too busy paying attention to the labels: whole grain or white flour, high fiber or low carb, blah, blah, blah. I saw this one that had “whole grain and flax,”  and I thought, hey, that sounds good. So I bought it and then I got home and realized they were corn tortillas, which aren’t really good for quesadillas, because you can’t fold them over — they just kind of break in half. So I made sort of a tortilla sandwich. As you will see, they don’t look as good as a real, flour-tortilla quesadilla would look. My apologies. (They still taste good, though!)

Winter Squash Quesadillas
1 1/2 cups minced onion
2 cloves minced garlic
2 tsp. dried oregano
1 1/2 tsp. each dried basil, marjoram, chili powder
1 1/2 tsp. ground cumin (optional)
A pinch of ground red pepper or to taste
4 cups winter squash (roasted and mashed)
8 FLOUR(!) tortillas
1 cup sharp cheddar cheese (shredded)
Serve with salsa

For this recipe, I used an acorn squash. I think you could pretty much use any type of winter squash. (Like I said before, I used a buttercup squash when I originally made this.) Whatever floats your boat. The original recipe called for sweet potatoes, which is also delish. To roast the squash, cut in half and stick face-down on a baking sheet with a rim. Roast for about 50 minutes at 375° F. The time will vary depending on the size of your squash. It’s done when you can easily stick a fork through the skin.

Scoop the squash out of the skin and mash it up. Add salt and pepper to taste. Set aside.

Saute the garlic and onion with 1 Tbsp. olive oil (or light-colored oil of your choice) in a large sauté pan, until they are translucent. (I made R chop that onion. Muahahaha!)

Add the spices, and cook for another minute.

Add squash and heat through. Stir frequently. When it’s all heated, add some more salt & pepper if needed.

Spread about 1/2 cup of the squash mixture onto half of the tortilla. Sprinkle some cheese on — as little or as much as you’d like. Fold tortilla in half. Place on lightly oiled baking sheets. Brush tops lightly with oil.

Or if you have corn tortillas, get creative.

Bake at 400° F until golden brown, about 15-20 min. Serve with some yummy salsa. (I regretfully did not have any salsa on hand.)

Look at that gooey, cheesy, squashy goodness. (Sorry vegans).

*Please do not read into this that I think getting pregnant is equivalent to a natural disaster. But it would be sort of bad timing. Let’s finish up grad school first, shall we? Yes, thank you.

2 thoughts on “Winter Squash Quesadillas

  1. Hello sister, be glad I actually read some of your blog! This recipe looks delicious. I’ll have to try it soon for sure! : )

Leave a Reply

