How to Eat a Pomegranate

I love pomegranates.

I didn’t actually ever try one until last year. Before that, I had no experience with pomegranates, except for what I read in Greek mythology about Persephone eating one and then forever having to live in Hades. (I love Greek mythology.) I don’t know why I had never tried one, but last year R brought one home from work and I was so excited to try it!

But I wondered… how the heck do you eat one? How do you open it? Good question. Google answered that for me, but I want to answer it for you.

Because chances are, if you’ve never done it before and you try to cut it open with no guidance, you will get pomegranate juice everywhere, and trust me, you don’t want that. It stains everything. Kind of like beet juice (except that pomegranates are wayyy more appetizing than beets will ever be.)

To begin with, make sure your pomegranate is ripe. It should be a deep, shiny red, and there shouldn’t be any real soft spots.

Step 1: Cut off the very top and the very bottom. You might cut through a couple of seeds, but that’s OK.

Step 2: Make 4 cuts around the sides, just cutting through the skin. Do not slice all the way through the pomegranate. You want the seeds in the middle to be intact when you open it.

Step 3: Fill a large bowl with water. Holding the pomegranate under the water, gently pull it apart, separating the seeds from the skin. The reason you want to do it in the water is so a) you don’t get juice everywhere, and b) the papery skin will float to the top, and the seeds will sink to the bottom. I love getting all the seeds out. There is something incredibly satisfying about breaking it open, pulling back the skin, and discovering a giant cluster of glistening ruby-red seeds just waiting to be eaten.

I pulled out some pieces of the pomegranate after pulling it apart underwater. Isn’t it pretty? I think the pomegranate is just beautiful.

Step 4: Once you’ve got all of the seeds out, skim the papery stuff out of the water, and then you can dump the seeds into a colander. Store in an airtight container in the fridge for a week or so. You can just eat them plain for a snack (so delicious!), or try mixing them into greek yogurt with a little honey, or sprinkle them on your morning cereal or oatmeal! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

