Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers

Ever made your own veggie burgers? We had always bought pre-made until we found this recipe last summer. Now this is our go-to burger. It’s really flavorful, packed with sweet potato, black beans, and spices. Even our meat-eating friends loved them! And for you vegan and/or gluten-free people, this burger is safe. Original recipe here.

If you think making your own veggie burger is going to be complicated, don’t worry. This recipe is really easy. The prep work is a little bit time consuming, but nothing too crazy.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers (Makes 6-8 burgers)

  • 15 oz black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 3 c cubed sweet potatoes (skin on)
  • 1/2 c frozen or fresh corn
  • 2/3 c finely chopped onion (1/2 medium onion)
  • 2 large garlic cloves, finely minced
  • 1/2 c cooked quinoa
  • 6 Tbsp rolled oats, partially ground (we use our coffee grinder to grind them)
  • 2 Tbsp sunflower seeds (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Black pepper
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp oregano
  • 1/4 tsp coriander
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne (optional)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil

Before doing anything else, you’ll want to cook your quinoa, and steam your cubed potatoes. For the quinoa, just follow the directions on the box. To cook the potatoes, I usually put them in the microwave sprinkled with a tiny bit of water and microwave for 5+ minutes, until tender.

Preheat the oven to 375° when you’re done cooking your quinoa and potato.

Wondering what quinoa is? First things first, it’s pronounced keen-wa, and it is really good for you! It is a great source of protein, and contains all 8 essential amino acids (I don’t really know what that means, but it’s probably good). You should be able to find it in any grocery store. Try it as a substitute for rice in any recipe; you can also substitute it for the pasta in my pasta salad.

Back to the recipe!
1. After you’ve rinsed and drained your beans, mash half of them in a bowl until it is paste-like. After they are good and mashed, add in the rest of the beans, and very lightly stir/mash just until combined. Set aside.
2. In a large bowl, mash your cooked sweet potatoes, but leave it a little bit chunky. While each cube should be mashed, you don’t want the creamy texture of mashed potatoes.
3. Stir in the salt, pepper, oregano, coriander, chili powder, cayenne (if using) and olive oil, until combined.
4. Mix in the onion, garlic, corn, black beans, quinoa, sunflower seeds, and ground oats, until just combined. Feel free to taste at this point and add more spices if you think it needs more kick.

Using your hands, form the mixture into balls and flatten into patties, between 1/2″ to 3/4″ thick. We usually make 6 patties, but you can make up to 8.

Place the patties on a pan lined with parchment paper. Bake for 30 minutes, flipping the burgers halfway through.

We usually serve on a bun with pepper jack cheese and ketchup. It’s also good with avocado and/or roasted red peppers!

If you make 6 patties, each burger (without bun & toppings) is 4 PointsPlus. If you make 8 patties, each burger is 3 PointsPlus.

4 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Black Bean Burgers

  1. Reblogged this on KarmaWaves and commented:
    Lovee this recipe and wanted to share it with my community. I joined weight watchers last week after hearing from my aryuvedic doc I am bearing too much belly fat for my age. ( 28 years young ). I weighed in on Fri at 140.5 lbs. I am not quite sure if I’m on the 360 or the point plus curriculam as it was my first mtg. I was given some basic literature and a guideline of 26 points plus per day. I have to say the first two days I was shocked at how many points above 26 I accumlate. By sunday I wanted to quit. I am a Yogi work a regular asana practice and I try to include a weekly cardio sesh. By today ( weds Feb 6 ) I’m enjoying researching my food and being that much mindful of my nutrition. As per my docs suggestion I’ve decided to explore a gluten free menu. I have a very out of balance liver and I need to increase my vata and burn off some kapha.
    My diet is supposed to include lots of greens to combat the anemia and tomatoes to increase the internal heat. In Btwn balancing my dosha, headstands, and meditation I decided to indulge in this yummie quinoa -sweet potatoe-black bean burger. I just had one for late lunch /dinner st my local health food store, and I loveeed it! ( its called food for thought , in garden city for my long island folk ). So I’m half way thru week 1 of weight watchers, neck deep in the middle orbs 28 day yoga challenge (#loveyogachallenge,#thesweatlife, follow me on ig @karmawaves ) and I’m happy! Here’s too happiness, quinoa & food for thought.

    Anyone out there have gliten free,vegetarian,ww pp recipes ? Send em over !
    Peace & blessings.

  2. Pingback: What’s for Supper? Oct. 14-20 | Farmer's Daughter

  3. Pingback: What’s For Supper? Oct. 28 – Nov. 3 | Farmer's Daughter

Leave a Reply

